616 Fifth Avenue, Unit 106
Belmar, NJ 07719
732-201-4133
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER: Thomas B. Considine



PRESIDENT: Rep. Tom Oliverson, TX VICE PRESIDENT: Asw. Pamela Hunter, NY TREASURER: Sen. Paul Utke, MN SECRETARY: Rep. Edmond Jordan, LA

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: Rep. Deborah Ferguson, AR

National Council of Insurance Legislators (NCOIL)

Resolution Recognizing Past President Representative Deborah Ferguson, DDS (AR) as an Honorary Member of NCOIL

WHEREAS, Deborah Ferguson has served with distinction for over a decade in the Arkansas House of Representatives after being elected in 2012; and

WHEREAS, Deborah has been a longtime active NCOIL Member, having served as Chair of the Life Insurance & Financial Planning Committee, Articles of Organization & Bylaws Revision Committee, and as NCOIL President in 2023; and

WHEREAS, throughout her time at NCOIL, Deborah was instrumental in the adoption of a wide range of Model Laws and Resolutions, never caring who received the credit as long as the work was done and done well; and

WHEREAS, during her term as NCOIL President, Deborah emphasized the importance of respectful and bipartisan discussions which advanced the organization from both substantive and legislative membership perspectives; and

WHEREAS, Deborah made a determined effort to have all NCOIL Meeting attendees feel welcome and engaged by starting programs to build community and camaraderie such as the NCOIL Women's Caucus and first time NCOIL Meeting attendee legislator dinners; and

WHEREAS, she also made a determined effort and achieved measurable success at increasing NCOIL's diversity and bipartisan attendance; and

WHEREAS, in addition to her efforts at NCOIL, Deborah has led a distinguished career owning her own dental practice and being involved in various causes in her community such as serving as a Guardian Ad Litem for foster children, teaching elementary Sunday School, and working with organizations such as the American Heart Association and the Arkansas Arts Council, among others; and

^{*}Adopted by the NCOIL Executive Committee on November 24, 2024

^{*}Sponsored by Rep. Tom Oliverson, M.D. (TX); Asw. Pamela Hunter (NY); Sen. Paul Utke (MN); Rep. Edmond Jordan (LA); Sen. Justin Boyd (AR)

WHEREAS, NCOIL legislators, staff, and participants have thoroughly enjoyed the hours they have spent working with, laughing with, learning from, and growing to know her as an effective legislator and a truly fine woman; and

WHEREAS, NCOIL's bylaws permit the NCOIL Executive Committee to, at any regular meeting, confer the title of "Honorary Member" on any individual who has served in a state legislature but is no longer a member of the state legislature or is leaving the legislature at the end of the calendar year in which the action is taken and who has participated in no fewer than 15 official NCOIL events, and who the Executive Committee wishes to recognize for outstanding service to NCOIL; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the NCOIL Executive Committee recognizes Deborah's outstanding service to NCOIL; and

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Representative Deborah Ferguson is hereby recognized by the NCOIL Executive Committee as an NCOIL Honorary Member; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, with great appreciation, that NCOIL will send this Resolution to Deborah in honor of her special place in NCOIL History.