## V. OFFICERS/EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- The officers of NCOIL shall consist of the following five (5) officers: a Α. President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and the Immediate Past Presidents. No person shall be elected as an officer of NCOIL who is not a member of the Executive Committee. Effective with the officer election in November of 2025, in order for each officer to advance through the chairs, (s)he shall attend, within the past 12 months, at least two (2) of the prior three (3) NCOIL National Meetings, one (1) of the other NCOIL events (D.C. Educational Fly-in or Corporate & Institutional Partners (CIP) Planning Meeting), and one of the prior three (3) National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) National Meetings. If, for good cause shown, the President excuses an incumbent officer from one of the above requirements, she or he may replace one of the attendance requirements above with attendance at another of the above meetings or events.
- В. The Executive Committee shall consist of the five (5) officers, (as stated in Article V. Section A) and at least one (1) and not more than four (4) representatives of each Contributing State of NCOIL. New members of NCOIL Contributing States shall be elected by a majority of the Executive Committee Members. Notwithstanding any other provision of the NCOIL Articles of Organization or Bylaws, the chair of the committee responsible for insurance legislation in each legislative house of each Contributing State shall automatically, by the nature of his or her office, be a voting member of the Executive Committee at his or her first meeting. A state committee chair from a Contributing State must attend the Executive Committee meeting at his or her first 3 NCOIL conference to be recognized as a new Executive Committee member unless, upon good cause shown, such attendance is deemed by the President to be unreasonable. Past Presidents who are still state legislators shall be voting, ex-officio members of the Executive Committee and shall not constitute a representative of a member State. The President shall not constitute a representative of his state during his term.