NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF INSURANCE LEGISLATORS 2017 ANNUAL MEETING PARIS HOTEL, LAS VEGAS, NV EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE NOVEMBER 19^{TH} , 2016

The NCOIL Executive Committee met at the Paris Hotel in Las Vegas on Sunday, November 20, 2016 at 10:00 a.m.

Chair of the Committee, Senator Travis Holdman, presided.

Other Members of the Committee Present:

Vice President, Rep. Steve Riggs, KY Secretary, Sen. Jason Rapert, AR Treasurer, Rep. Bill Botzow, VT

Rep. Martin Carbaugh, IN

Rep. Matt Lehman, IN

Sen. Thomas Buford, KY

Rep. Jeff Greer, KY

Sen. Dan "Blade" Morrish, LA

Asm. William Barclay, NY

Asm. Kevin Cahill, NY

Sen. James Seward, NY*

Sen. Jerry Klein, ND

Sen. David O'Connell, ND

Rep. Marguerite Quinn, PA

Rep. Kathie Keenan, VT*

Paul Penna, NCOIL Support Service Executive Director gave the meeting report that there were 273 attendees, 63 legislators, 7 insurance commissioners or equivalent and 11 insurance departments represented. Mr. Penna stated that 25 states had paid their dues for 2016-2017 and the unaudited 3rd quarter financials showed revenue of \$261,841.76 and expenses of \$223,373.80 for a net revenue of \$38,467.96.

A motion was made and seconded to accept the following members from contributing member states to the Executive Committee:

Rep. Sam Kito (AK)

Sen. Greg Stanridge (AR)

Asm. Ken Cooley (CA)

Rep. Bart Rowland (KY)

Asw. Maggie Carlton (NV)

Rep. Glenn Mulready (OK)

Sen. Roger Picard (RI)

Sen. Ronnie Cromer (SC)

A motion was made to accept the non-controversial calendar. Asm. Cahill announced that under his leadership on the Health Committee, a Task Force was being appointed to examine solutions to the issues surrounding balance billing of Air Ambulances. He expected the Task Force to be formed and will meet via teleconference in December. Asm. Cahill also noted that a

teleconference will be held in December to discuss possible changes to the ACA in the new Trump Administration.

The following model laws and Resolutions were adopted and re-adopted:

Model Act to Protect Minors from Identity Theft

Model Act regarding Disability Insurance

Amendments to and re-adoption of Structured Settlement Model Law

Re-adoption of the Identity Theft Protection Model Act

Re-adoption of the Company Licensing Modernization Model Act

Re-adoption of the Market Conduct Surveillance Model Law

Adopted Resolution Reaffirming Support for the U.S. State-Based System of Insurance Regulation in Response to Recent Federal Encroachment

A motion was made and seconded to adopt all committee reports and model laws. It passed unanimously.

Sen. Rapert asked for consideration of Resolution in Opposition to DOL Fiduciary Rule that passed the Financial Services and Investment Products Committee in at the Summer Meeting in Portland. The motion carried on a voice vote with Rep. Botzow and Asm. Cahill voting nay.

Commissioner Considine gave an update on the Griffith Foundation Legislator breakfast with a presentation by Professor Terri Vaughan of Drake University discussing the differences between insurance regulatory structures in the United States and the European Union.

He also highlighted the interesting remarks offered by Rep. Carter and Gov. Hodges at the keynote luncheon. The Welcome Breakfast had an interesting presentation about Presentation by Jeff Johnston, Senior Director, Financial Regulatory Affairs – Domestic Policy & Implementation, NAIC about NAIC Solvency Analytics, Reporting, and Capital Standards and the completion and conclusion of the SWOT exercise that legislators and participants worked on during the year. A copy of the memo will be sent with the meeting minutes and NCOIL leadership will consider suggestions and make changes as appropriate. Commissioner Considine was struck by how many legislators and participants suggested moving from three meetings a year to two and remarked that it was worthy of consideration.

President Holdman gave the Nominating Committee Report and Election of Officers. Rep. Riggs was elected President, Sen. Rapert was elected Vice-President, Rep. Botzow was elected Secretary and Rep. Matt Lehman was elected Treasurer. Sen. Holdman was elevated to Immediate Past President. A motion was made and seconded to accept the Nominating Committee Report.

Commissioner Considine reflected on his first year as CEO and thanked Senators Breslin, Seward and Holdman for their leadership and support during this transitional year.

Rep. Riggs and Commissioner Considine recognized outgoing NCOIL President Holdman and presented him with a ceremonial gavel. President Holdman thanked everyone for their support and hard work during his year as President.

There being no other business, the committee adjourned at 10:26