NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF INSURANCE LEGISLATORS MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE/INSURANCE LEGISLATORS FOUNDATION BOARD (ILF) MEETING SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS NOVEMBER 12, 2015 DRAFT MINUTES

The Membership Committee and the Insurance Legislators Foundation (ILF) Board of the National Conference of Insurance Legislators (NCOIL) met at the Hilton Palacio del Rio in San Antonio, Texas, on Thursday, November 12, 2015, at 4:30 p.m.

Rep. George Keiser of North Dakota, co-chair of the Membership Committee, presided over the meeting with Sen. Neil Breslin of New York, President of the ILF Board.

Other legislators present were:

Sen. Travis Holdman, IN Rep. Steve Riggs, KY Sen. Jerry Klein, ND Sen. James Seward, NY Rep. Bill Botzow, VT Rep. Kathie Keenan, VT

Others present were:

Susan Nolan, Nolan Associates, NCOIL Executive Director/ILF Executive Vice President Candace Thorson, Nolan Associates, NCOIL Deputy Executive Director

MINUTES

Upon a motion made and seconded, the Committee and ILF Board approved the minutes of their joint July 16, 2015, meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana.

SCHOLARSHIP ACTIVITY

Ms. Nolan reported that five legislators were attending the Annual Meeting on scholarship, including lawmakers from California, Colorado, Minnesota, Washington, and Wisconsin.

MEMBERSHIP OUTREACH EFFORTS/NEXT STEPS

Rep. Riggs reported on his recent efforts to encourage legislative participation and said that some states, such as Georgia, might not pay for legislators to attend out-of-state conferences. Rep. Keiser offered background on Georgia participation at NCOIL and said that conversations with the state insurance commissioner had been helpful. He also spoke to other issues related to insurance commissioners and NCOIL membership and to the importance of having legislators from contributing-member states continue to attend NCOIL meetings.

Ms. Nolan then overviewed the NCOIL process for offering scholarships to legislators from general member states.

The Committee then adjourned to the ILF Board meeting.

INSURANCE LEGISLATORS FOUNDATION (ILF)

ELECTION OF ILF BOARD

Upon a motion made and seconded, the Board elected the following slate of ILF officers and Board members for 2015 to 2016:

Incoming Officers President: Sen. Travis Holdman, IN Vice President: Rep. Steve Riggs, KY Secretary/Treasurer: Sen. Jason Rapert, AR

Incoming Members Rep. George Keiser, ND Sen. Carroll Leavell, NM Sen. Neil Breslin, NY Sen. William J. Larkin, Jr., NY Sen. James Seward, NY Rep. Brian Kennedy, RI Rep. Kathie Keenan, VT

ADJOURNMENT There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

 $\ensuremath{\mathbb{C}}$ National Conference of Insurance Legislators (NCOIL) K:/ILF/900581.doc