NCOIL President Announces 2019 Committee Leadership

For Immediate Release
January 4, 2019
Contact: Paul Penna
(732) 201-4133

Strong Group of Insurance Legislators to Lead Committees

Manasquan, NJ – LA Senator Dan “Blade” Morrish, NCOIL President, announced the lineup of Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2019.

“This bipartisan, bicameral group represents countless years of experience in insurance and financial services public policy” said Morrish. “I am confident they will do a commendable job representing NCOIL and leading these committees throughout the year at our three meetings and many interim committee calls.”

The NCOIL Chairs and Vice Chairs are:

Financial Services:                                                                                        Joint State-Federal Relations and International Insurance Issues: 
Chair: Sen. Bob Hackett, OH                                                                                  Chair: Sen. Jerry Klein, ND
Vice Chair: Rep. Bart Rowland, KY                                                                       Vice Chair: Sen. Roger Picard, RI

Health Insurance and Long Term Care                                                 Workers’ Compensation Insurance:
Issues:                                                                                                                  Chair: Rep. Edmond Jordan, LA
Chair: Asw. Pam Hunter, NY                                                                                   Vice Chair: Rep. David Santiago, FL
Vice Chair: Rep. Tom Oliverson, M.D., TX

Life Insurance & Financial Planning:                                                      Articles of Incorporation & Bylaws Revision:
Chair: Rep. Joe Fischer, KY                                                                                      Chair: Rep. Deborah Ferguson, AR
Vice Chair: Rep. Martin Carbaugh, IN                                                                    Vice Chair: Asm. Andrew Garbarino, NY

NCOIL-NAIC Dialogue:                                                                                  Audit Committee:
Chair: Rep. Matt Lehman, IN                                                                                  Chair: Rep. Matt Lehman, IN
Vice Chair: Sen. Jim Seward, NY                                                                             Vice Chair: Asm. Ken Cooley, CA

Property & Casualty Insurance:                                                                  Budget Committee:
Chair: Rep. Richard Smith, GA                                                                                Chair: Asm. Ken Cooley, CA
Vice Chair: Asw. Maggie Carlton, NV                                                                      Vice Chair: Sen. Neil Breslin, NY

Business Planning:                                                                                           Nominating Committee:
Chair: Sen. Dan “Blade” Morrish, LA                                                                      Chair: Sen. Jason Rapert, AR
Vice Chair: Rep. Matt Lehman, IN                                                                           Co-Chair: Sen. Travis Holdman, IN

The 2019 NCOIL Spring Meeting will be in Nashville, TN from March 15th – 17th at the Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown. Registration is now open. Please visit for more information.


NCOIL is a national legislative organization with the nation’s 50 states as members, represented principally by legislators
serving on their states’ insurance and financial institutions committees. NCOIL writes Model Laws in insurance and
financial services, works to preserve the State jurisdiction over insurance as established by the McCarran-Ferguson Act
seventy years ago, and to serve as an educational forum for public policymakers and interested parties. Founded in 1969,
NCOIL works to assert the prerogative of legislators in making State policy when it comes to insurance and educate State
legislators on current and longstanding insurance issues.