NCOIL President Announces 2018 Committee Leadership

For Immediate Release
January 5, 2018
Contact: Paul Penna
(732) 201-4133

Strong Group of Insurance Legislators to Lead Committees

Manasquan, NJ – AR Senator Jason Rapert, NCOIL President, announced the lineup of Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2018. “This is a geographically and politically diverse group of legislative leaders that will help NCOIL continue to examine and enact sound insurance public policy” said Rapert. “I am confident these legislators will do an admirable job leading these committees throughout the year at NCOIL meetings and interim committee calls.”

The NCOIL Chairs and Vice Chairs are:

Financial Services:                                                                                         Property & Casualty Insurance:
Chair: Sen. Bob Hackett, OH                                                                                  Chair: Rep. Richard Smith, GA
Vice Chair: Rep. Sam Kito, AK                                                                                Vice Chair: Rep. David Santiago, FL

Health, Long Term Care & Health                                                            State-Federal Relations:
Retirement Issues:                                                                                          Chair: Sen. Dan “Blade” Morrish, LA 
Chair: Asm. Kevin Cahill, NY                                                                                  Vice Chair: Rep. Glen Mulready, OK
Vice Chair: Rep. Tom Oliverson, M.D., TX

International Insurance Issues:                                                                Workers’ Compensation Insurance:
Chair: Sen. Jerry Klein, ND                                                                                     Chair: Rep. Marguerite Quinn, PA
Vice Chair: Sen. Roger Picard, RI                                                                           Vice Chair: Asw. Maggie Carlton, NV

Life Insurance & Financial Planning:                                                     Articles of Incorporation/Bylaws:
Chair: Rep Deborah Ferguson, AR                                                                        Chair: Rep. Joe Fischer, KY
Vice Chair: Rep. Joe Hoppe, MN                                                                           Vice Chair: Rep. Martin Carbaugh, IN

NCOIL-NAIC Dialogue:                                                                                 Audit Committee: 
Chair: Rep. Bill Botzow, VT                                                                                     Chair: Rep. Bill Botzow, VT
Vice Chair: Sen. Jim Seward, NY                                                                            Vice Chair: Asm. Ken Cooley, CA

Budget Committee:                                                                                         Business Planning:
Chair: Rep. Matt Lehman, IN                                                                                  Chair: Sen. Jason Rapert, AR
Vice Chair: Rep. Lois Delmore, ND                                                                        Vice Chair: Rep. Bill Botzow, VT

Chair: Rep. Steve Riggs, KY*
Vice Chair: Sen. Travis Holdman, IN

The NCOIL Spring Meeting will be in Atlanta, GA from March 2 – 4 at the Buckhead Whitley.


NCOIL is a legislative organization comprised principally of legislators serving on state insurance and financial
institutions committees around the nation. NCOIL writes Model Laws in insurance and financial services, works to
both preserve the state jurisdiction over insurance as established by the McCarran-Ferguson Act seventy years ago
and to serve as an educational forum for public policy makers and interested parties. Founded in 1969, NCOIL works
to assert the prerogative of legislators in making state policy when it comes to insurance and educate state legislators
on current and perennial insurance issues.